Giovedì, 11 Febbraio 2016 11:12 | Etzebeth honoured by presidency role

Scritto da 
Vota questo articolo
(0 Voti)

Cape Town - Springbok and Stormers lock Eben Etzebeth wasrecently elected as South African Rugby Players Association (SARPA) presidentat its annual general meeting.

SARPA is the industrial arm responsible for managingemployment

matters at MyPlayers - the rugby players’ organisation in SouthAfrica.

Etzebeth takes over from fellow Springbok Bismarck duPlessis, who now plies his trade for French rugby club Montpellier.

“It’s a massive honour for me to be entrusted with theresponsibility of representing professional players in South Africa in thismanner,” said Etzebeth.

“Bismarck has done a sterling job representing allprofessional players over the past five years and I aim to continue the legacyhe has left behind.

“Under his leadership, our organisation has made hugestrides, which have contributed to the organisation’s efforts in creating abetter environment for professional rugby players in South Africa.”

In his new position, Etzebeth will actively participate inkey issues relating to employment matters affecting players.

“I see this position as a consultative one. There is plentyof experience within the system, such as Louis von Zeuner, Blake Kyd, StephRoberts and Juan de Jongh, who I’ll be learning from as I go along. This alsoserves as an opportunity for me to grow as an individual and gather newskills,” he concluded.

As part of his duties as president, Etzebeth will beresponsible for enforcing SARPA’s constitution and to exercise supervision overall the trade union’s affairs.

In other leadership developments within the players’organisation, Southern Kings scrumhalf Kevin Luiters also joins the leadershipgroup as an executive committee member, while Tendai “Beast” Mtawarira replacesBismarck du Plessis on the MyPlayers board.

On the Players Trust, Jannie du Plessis, Jean de Villiers,Steven Hunt and Pierre Spies are replaced by Frans Malherbe, Teboho “Oupa”Mohoje, Werner Kok and Warren Whiteley as trustees.

SARPA Executive Committee: Eben Etzebeth (president), ClemenLewis (vice-president), Blake Kyd, Juan de Jongh, Teboho Mohoje, Kevin Luiters,Zenay Jordaan, Steph Roberts and Warren Whiteley.

MyPlayers Board Members: Louis von Zeuner (chairperson),Kyle Brown, Pat Lambie, Eugene Henning, Tendai Mtawarira and Piet Heymans.

Trustees of the Player Trusts: Kyle Brown, Adriaan Strauss,Frans Malherbe, Tendai Mtawarira, Werner Kok, Teboho Mohoje and WarrenWhiteley.

For more exclusive player content, check out

Letto 455 volte
Devi effettuare il login per inviare commenti

Powered by

Questo sito utilizza cookie tecnici e di profilazione propri e di terze parti per le sue funzionalità e per inviarti pubblicità e servizi in linea con le tue preferenze. Se vuoi saperne di più o negare il consenso a tutti o ad alcuni cookie clicca qui.

  Chiudendo questo banner, scorrendo questa pagina o cliccando qualunque suo elemento acconsenti all'uso dei cookie.